IVF

Having Children?

DSCN1438

As you can see by the title of this post it is a pretty personal post but I think it is a very good idea to share this story, our story. We discussed it together beforehand as we wasn’t 100% sure whether we were going to share it but I think it helps raise awareness about something that is slightly more common than we think. Also I found that Izzy Judd really inspired me to share my story, I am yet to read her book as I’m waiting for payday but she is definitely an inspiration.

When me and Llewellyn moved in together 7 years ago the conversation came up about marriage and children, I think because we had moved in together we knew that that’s where our relationship was heading. I think it was probably 6 to 12 months into moving in that we discussed it and we decided it was a good idea to stop my contraceptive pill, we had been together 2 years at this point.

Now by stopping the pill we went on the assumption that the pill would be out of my system within 6 months possibly up to 12 months and that then it would be pretty easy to conceive. I started taking folic acid, I kept track of when I was going to ovulate with ovulation tests and we got pretty serious about having a baby, I even started taking my Basal Body Temperature at one point. I think we did this method for a good year to a year and a half and found it wasn’t working, in the meantime we got engaged and started planning our Wedding.

With us planning the Wedding we decided to take a much more relaxed approach to trying to conceive as we were occupied with that and thought maybe that would help. Unfortunately it still didn’t happen and this was over a time span of 2 years, so we decided it was time to consult a Doctor and booked an appointment.

This was when the blood tests started to check for illness, progesterone levels and also to check my thyroid levels. For Llewellyn he had to have blood tests for illnesses and he also had to have a sperm analysis test. From these tests we found my thyroid was slightly out of the normal range so that was a possibility as to why we wasn’t conceiving. All other tests for me were fine, Llewellyns’ sperm analysis showed that he had slight deformities but other than that there were no problems. Our plan from there was to continue trying to conceive while we got my thyroid level to the normal range and I would go for an ultrasound. When that finally happened and my ultrasound results came back fine, it was time to be referred to a fertility clinic, this was the end of 2013, beginning of 2014.

From there we took a journey we didn’t expect to take which was the fact that we would have to have IVF to conceive. We had an initial appointment in the summer of 2014 to say that this was what we needed after we had more tests done, which came back and basically said we have unexplained infertility. We were then put on a waiting list to start treatment and this was roughly 12 to 18 months. We started our first IVF treatment in November 2016, I am going to write a separate post on our treatment, which unfortunately didn’t work. We then had a second round of IVF, again I am going to write a separate post on that treatment, which this cycle also never worked but I did respond much better.

As I said above our Infertility is unexplained which basically means there is no definitive reason as to why we cannot naturally conceive. It can be very frustrating when there is no reason to explain it especially when it seems everyone around you can conceive so easily. There has been times where I have completely broke down to old friends, to Llewellyn and my very close friend Eve about it. I also find it hard when people ask us when we are going to have children or they say ‘isn’t it about time you had children’, that is the most frustrating part as I think because there isn’t a definitive reason people don’t 100% understand.

This is just our story and there are many more women out there that have difficulties, whether it be through PCOS, Endometriosis, blocked tubes, partner has low sperm or whatever the reason, the list can easily go on. Personally I just think by sharing my story it raises awareness of these things and that it isn’t as easy as you think to conceive. I was always taught in school that it was so easy when in actual fact for me it’s not and the chances of us conceiving naturally are pretty slim unfortunately.

I hope you liked this post and that it opened a door into Infertility that you may not have known about. Keep your eyes peeled for the posts on our treatment and what we went through for that, especially as we went through 2 different types of treatment.

Feel free to ask any questions in the comments and will answer them as best I can.

X

10 thoughts on “Having Children?

  1. Pingback: IVF Cycle 1
  2. I’m sorry that you are dealing with this. I also needed ivf for my first baby. We had a clear case of male factor infertility and I had endometriosis. We thought that was all. But after our first ivf failed, we had further testing which revealed that I also have a few clotting disorders that cause implantation failure and pregnancy loss. I started on blood thinner shots and aspirin and, praise God, my second ivf worked! I tell you all this just to throw it out there that drs are frequently hesitant to look for these issues but it can make all the difference! I hope this helps. Sorry for the long comment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading & commenting. It is nice to know I’m not the only one out there that’s going through it. It is frustrating knowing that there isn’t a reason as it would be nice to be able to say oh I have this or this, if you know what I mean. Our consultant did say that we may still be able to catch naturally but shall talking more about that in Fridays post 🙂 Again thank you so much for your comment and congratulations on it working 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: IVF Cycle 2
  4. Thank you for being so honest and open with your story. I think this is something that women would benefit from hearing – helping them to realize that while this isn’t always talked about, they aren’t alone. I personally can’t have children, so we’ve been talking adoption. Everyone’s story is so different and being open about it will help us all see our own journeys as just as ‘normal’ and ‘ok’
    Britt | http://alternativelyspeaking.ca/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for reading!! I think more women are affected than people first think so I agree that women shouldn’t feel alone. Every one of our stories are important and hopefully people will finally see them as the norm x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. What beautiful courage you have to share your story! My husband and are almost at 2 years TTC and I’ve been referred for an ultrasound next month. I have a blog and am trying to draw the strength from others to share my story too. I wish you every luck in the world ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading & I hope I have helped you in some way!! I remember going for my ultrasound, seems like so long ago now. I hope it all goes well for you both & I am sending you lots of luck 😄❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

